Hi, it’s Laura.
Monday's run went off without a hitch. An easy five
miler.
After last week's foray into Yonkers, I sat down and
studied a map.
There is a trail in Van Cortland Park that I run but it
is unpaved in the Bronx. Once you cross
into Westchester, it's paved. I have looked it up several times but just
couldn't not figure out how to get there on bike without heading up the unpaved
part. My tires would not be able to handle the mud and dirt. Even if I did head
up the unpaved road with my bike it’s usually pretty wet and I don't want to
get muddy. I can cover myself with sweat
and suntan lotion but not mud.
I heard the guy behind me yelling “hey”, “hey you” and I
chose to ignore him and pretended that I didn't hear him since I ride with my
music generally pretty loud. I worked far too hard to go to this very lovely,
very flat, very long trail and I wasn't giving it up now. Turns out, you cannot get to the trail from
the parking lot after all. The guy did
not follow me into the parking lot. I am guessing that he didn't care that
much. I pulled out my phone from my
saddle bag to see how to get there from here. Just two block further down and
there is an actual entry.
The phone in the saddle bag is another drama story. Once the weather turned and I was outside to ride , I realized I had no idea where I was going in this new neighborhood. I needed to use my phone to help me navigate. At first, instead of listening to music, I would listen to directions in Google maps, smart right? Missed my music so ordered a case that I could use to hold the phone on the aero bars. Great idea. Didn’t fit my phone. I have the 5S and it only accommodates up to the 4S. Back to the old fashioned way of looking at maps as I go. Now I am adding at least 15 minutes to every ride because I have to stop, take out the phone, study the map, forget the direction, pull it back out look again, and then head back on the road.
Left onto Alan P. Sherman way and there it is. Glory! I
ride and ride, ecstatic that I now know where I am going and can add the ride
to my repertoire. Ride completed.
Tuesday only requires a short swim along with the ride.
Training for a half marathon while training for the
triathlon is certainly bringing its own challenges. This is week is supposed to be a recovery
week from tri training but it’s also a building week for half marathon
training. That makes my long run this
week nine miles.
The worst part is the start of the long run. I am so
stressed and jumpy that I starting running at an uncommonly fast pace for
me. I was just over a half mile in and I
could barely catch my breath. I checked
my heart rate realized how high it was and made myself walk for a minute to
calm down. When I started up again, I
was better but still running faster than my normal pace. Finally at mile 2.5, I settled into a nice
pace to complete the rest of the run. I
tried thinking about why these long runs stress me, I had plenty of time to
think about, but nothing really seemed to solve the puzzle.
Let the bike drama continue! Thursday's forecast was for rain with maybe
no rain in the afternoon. Last week I got lucky and the sun came out for a
lovely afternoon ride. Today I decided I didn't want to wait and headed to the
gym to spin.
If you recall the crank on the spin bike was loose. My hero husband came down and fixed it for
me. We opened a repair ticket with our
building to have them fix it. I have
been riding outside so the repair of the bike was not an issue for me, until it
was.
When I got to the gym this morning, of course the bike
was not fixed.
I marched back up to the apt got my ratchet set and
marched back down the gym.
I fixed it. Three
times I fixed it. I was so aggravated. While I was spinning I sent nasty emails
to the building manager. Why two weeks have passed and this is still not fixed?
I know that I am not the only one that uses the bike. Every time I do go to use
it, I need to adjust it back to my size.
Let's just say oodles of calories where burned on that ride this
morning. I had to take my frustration out somewhere. Why not burn a few extra calories?
One more ride, one more swim and one more run for the
week. Phew.
No comments:
Post a Comment