Monday, May 26, 2014

Need I Say More?

Hi. It's Laura.

This happened on Friday night and I think it pretty much sums up my week.

Enough said.

 
Laura

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Celebrate You


Hi. It's Laura. 

I have been writing this particular entry in my head for the last two weeks.  Every time I start well and my message is clear. I just have not been able to sit down long enough to write it down.

 About two weeks ago I went running with a friend of mine.  We were getting dressed and discussing what to wear based on the weather. She put on a very long T shirt that nearly looked like a dress. She told me that it was to cover her “large butt”.  My friend does NOT have a large butt.  It’s actually pretty small but she just doesn't see it that way.  I now know this is about her and her body issues. It saddens me that she would think so little (or big) of herself when I can see the beautiful person that she is. Which got me thinking about women and their body issues.

Last summer I volunteered at a Biggest Loser Run/Walk.  My first station was handing out the T-shirts for participants during registration.  It was an amazing turn out of people of all shapes and sizes. My second station was merchandise.

After the race everyone wanted a T-shirt or a hoody that says that they participated in the race. I totally get that! Who doesn't want to brag about their accomplishments (eh hum) anyway. I had a woman who wanted the baby blue hoodie. All I had left in baby blue was a medium.  The woman explained to me that she just lost 60lbs and this run/walk was her gift to herself. So we went through the table of hoodies looking for one that would fit her. 

Instead of baby blue we tried black in XL. She was swimming in it as it was so big.  Then she tried the royal blue in L. She thought it fit perfectly.  She still was looking at herself with the 60 extra pound eyes and she was wrong. It was way too big.  I asked her to please try on the baby blue medium. She refused claiming it would never fit her.  I finally convinced her to just try it. I felt like my mom trying to get me to try a new food. 

When we (I had a little help from a friend of hers) finally got her to try it on, I asked her to zip it up. It fit perfectly.  She didn't believe me.  Thanks to smart phones, I took her picture and showed it to her.  The look on her face was priceless. Her tears were contagious.  It was amazing to see someone who worked so hard achieve their goals.

I have so much to say on this topic that I lose my point once in a while please bear with me.

We all have parts of our bodies that we don't like which is most evident when you start comparing yourself to someone else.

Personally I have given that up. It is bad habit that needs to be broken like smoking and just as dangerous. The only opinion about you that counts is yours. I know easier said than done but like exercise it’s something you need to practice every day.

Giving up the habit of comparing yourself to others or hating your own body is not easy. We are bombarded with "perfect" images every day. Forget social media for now, that is a whole other beast. Magazine covers, billboards & television are enough not to mention that fat- shamers and bullies among us. Other people’s opinion of you are none of your concern. Are you still looking through a magazine and wishing you could like that? No pores, perfect skin, long flowing glossy hair.  It’s all a lie.  Every single picture in a magazine and billboards, even movies, are photo -shopped.  Yes you too can be perfect with photo shop. There are enough photo shop GIF's out there.

To help convince you here is one of my favorites:
http://jezebel.com/photoshop-gifs-make-you-wonder-why-we-have-models-at-al-1455209793

 

and one other:
 
http://www.buzzfeed.com/jessicamisener/17-mesmerizing-before-after-photoshop-gifs
 

As for TV, it too is an illusion. Makeup artists, hair extensions and spanks lend themselves to the perfection illusion. 

Try to look at yourself as a whole person, not a body part. If you are comparing yourself to anyone else, stop it! You cannot be anyone else, EVER.   Back in 2002, I was dying to get my boobs done.   Seriously!  I did all the research online. I found out it was actual surgery and that it was expensive. I read all of the things that could go wrong simultaneously convincing myself, through celebrity photos, it was the right thing to do.  I desperately wanted bigger boobs.  But why? I got plenty of attention looking the way I did. There was a woman where I trained who had fake boobs.  She was cute and bubbly and not in saccharine way. I saw all of the attention she got just because of her boobs.   I ultimately decided that is not the kind of attention that I want for myself.  She was a smart girl too but no one would ever know that because they couldn't get passed the boobs.

I have not wanted to surgically enhance any part of my body since.  I have come to the realizations that I will never be 6', have thick hair or have big boobs.  I don't need to be 6', none of my clothes would fit. My hair is just fine. And as far as boobs go, I love the ones that I have. I am happy now that I never got it done.   I don't need to be anyone else.

I am strong, ambitious, athletic, nurturing, beautiful, smart, sassy full of energy and I love my life, my friends and my family. And they love me (most days anyway).

I continue to make discoveries about myself every day.  I am not perfect, I have my flaws, and we all do. I refuse though to eliminate whole food groups from my diet in order to be some else's definition of thin or to run a marathon because that is somebody else's definition of physical success. I run my own race, define my own success because no one else has traveled my journey, has my genes or embraces my same values.

Recent campaigns by both Dove Soap and The Today Show have tried to show women embracing themselves just as they are: beautiful.  Stripping them down to their underwear no matter their physical size and showing the world that every woman is to be embraced, not just the slender unrealistic models & celebrities that are glorified in media.

 I have an article to share with you that I found in the NY Times last May. It made me so sad that a person could be so disconnected from themselves. I Am Not This Body

You are a beautiful person. Celebrate you! Don't hate you. You only get one of yourself. It would be shame to go through life not liking how you look or wishing that you were someone else or had some else's body part.

Laura

 

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Left, Right, Hill


Hi, it’s Laura.

 I finally thought I had some traction in my training. 

Monday's run went off without a hitch. An easy five miler.

After last week's foray into Yonkers, I sat down and studied a map.

There is a trail in Van Cortland Park that I run but it is unpaved in the Bronx.  Once you cross into Westchester, it's paved. I have looked it up several times but just couldn't not figure out how to get there on bike without heading up the unpaved part. My tires would not be able to handle the mud and dirt. Even if I did head up the unpaved road with my bike it’s usually pretty wet and I don't want to get muddy.  I can cover myself with sweat and suntan lotion but not mud.

 As it turned out, by my map studying, I was not that far off in my direction to get there last week just needed to make a few lefts and rights, climb a giant hill, make a few more lefts and rights go down a small hill enter into a private parking lot and VIOLA! There it is.

I heard the guy behind me yelling “hey”, “hey you” and I chose to ignore him and pretended that I didn't hear him since I ride with my music generally pretty loud. I worked far too hard to go to this very lovely, very flat, very long trail and I wasn't giving it up now.  Turns out, you cannot get to the trail from the parking lot after all.  The guy did not follow me into the parking lot. I am guessing that he didn't care that much.  I pulled out my phone from my saddle bag to see how to get there from here. Just two block further down and there is an actual entry.

The phone in the saddle bag is another drama story.  Once the weather turned and I was outside to ride , I realized I had no idea where I was going in this new neighborhood. I needed to use my phone to help me navigate.  At first, instead of listening to music, I would listen to directions in Google maps, smart right? Missed my music so ordered a case that I could use to hold the phone on the aero bars. Great idea. Didn’t fit my phone. I have the 5S and it only accommodates up to the 4S. Back to the old fashioned way of looking at maps as I go. Now I am adding at least 15 minutes to every ride because I have to stop, take out the phone, study the map, forget the direction, pull it back out look again, and then head back on the road.

Left onto Alan P. Sherman way and there it is. Glory! I ride and ride, ecstatic that I now know where I am going and can add the ride to my repertoire. Ride completed.  Tuesday only requires a short swim along with the ride.

Training for a half marathon while training for the triathlon is certainly bringing its own challenges.  This is week is supposed to be a recovery week from tri training but it’s also a building week for half marathon training.  That makes my long run this week nine miles.

 I stress pretty hard over long runs.   24 hours ahead of the run, I start to obsess about the distance.  I know I can run the distance. I have run it before. But something about tackling 8 or 9 or 10 miles is daunting. I have yet to figure out exactly why I drive myself crazy about it.

The worst part is the start of the long run. I am so stressed and jumpy that I starting running at an uncommonly fast pace for me.  I was just over a half mile in and I could barely catch my breath.  I checked my heart rate realized how high it was and made myself walk for a minute to calm down.  When I started up again, I was better but still running faster than my normal pace.  Finally at mile 2.5, I settled into a nice pace to complete the rest of the run.  I tried thinking about why these long runs stress me, I had plenty of time to think about, but nothing really seemed to solve the puzzle.

Let the bike drama continue!  Thursday's forecast was for rain with maybe no rain in the afternoon. Last week I got lucky and the sun came out for a lovely afternoon ride. Today I decided I didn't want to wait and headed to the gym to spin.

If you recall the crank on the spin bike was loose.  My hero husband came down and fixed it for me.  We opened a repair ticket with our building to have them fix it.  I have been riding outside so the repair of the bike was not an issue for me, until it was.
 
When I got to the gym this morning, of course the bike was not fixed.

I marched back up to the apt got my ratchet set and marched back down the gym.

I fixed it.  Three times I fixed it. I was so aggravated. While I was spinning I sent nasty emails to the building manager. Why two weeks have passed and this is still not fixed? I know that I am not the only one that uses the bike. Every time I do go to use it, I need to adjust it back to my size.  Let's just say oodles of calories where burned on that ride this morning. I had to take my frustration out somewhere.  Why not burn a few extra calories?

 As of this writing, I am happy that I didn't wait for the weather to turn because I would still be waiting for the sun to pop out.

One more ride, one more swim and one more run for the week. Phew.

 Laura

 

Monday, May 5, 2014

Last Week in a Nutshell


Hi. It's Laura.

Before I move into telling my stories for this week, I thought I would recap some of the craziness of last week.

During the throws of triathlon training it is not always easy to sit down and tell a story. Not only is there training but there is life and other obligations (we may have established that in earlier posts but it can't hurt to reiterate).

My current Saturday schedules are insane:  bike, clean the apt, walk the dog, swim. 

On paper it doesn't look like much but every activity takes a minimum of one hour. Needless to say, by the time I get to the swim I am dragging myself around.

I desperately wanted to nap last Saturday. With the swim still in front of me for the day, I was torn: nap, swim, nap or swim, nap then swim?  We all know that, if the nap happens first, the swim will never happen. 

Not to offend any of the reading audience, but I am not a huge fan of other people's children. If there is more than one, the dislike grows exponentially. (There are exceptions to the dislike, son of The Curly Girl comes to mind.) I am not going to use this blog to share my distaste for ill mannered, spoiled, narcissistic children so I will stop here. But you need to know where I stand.
 

I headed to pool and forbore the nap. The pool in our building is generally pretty quiet. Compared to my time at the JCC, it’s a welcome change. That is until someone else actually shows up.  This particular Saturday, it was five tweens. The rule in our pool is, if you are under the age of 16, you must be accompanied by an adult.
 
There they all stood at the bottom of the stairs. Meanwhile, I am just about to put my swim cap & goggles on until I notice that they are all dry. It is customary in public pools to shower before you get in the water. As a matter of fact, most pools have signs in both the locker rooms and around the pool saying just that. Our pool is no exception.  I inform the girls that they need to shower before entering. You would have thought that I told them to cut off all their hair.  And, after the looks I received, I wanted to grab my shears.

 They huddled around trying to figure out what to do when, to what do my wonderful eyes do appear, their adult.  I inform her they need to shower and instruct them to the locker room. “I have never hear of such a thing!” she says. I gladly pointed out the very large sign just above the pool that says “Please Shower Before Entering the Pool”. Unfortunately for me, I had forgotten my swim watch in the apt. So I suffered the humiliation of having to travel back to the apt soaking wet (wrapped in a towel) with other children on the elevator asking their mommies if they could “swim with them”. I dash into the apt, grab the watch and head back to the pool.

The tweens are well into whatever water game they were playing and had the good sense to stay out of my way.  Did I mention I was tired and cranky?  A serious nap followed.

Monday passed without incident.  I run on Mondays and nothing seemed to interrupt the five miler on that day.  I have carved out a nice little route up near the Van Cortland Golf Course. It’s quiet. It’s pretty. What more can you ask for?

The drama this season seems to be stemming from cycling. 

Last Tuesday, the weather was chilly and threatening to rain. Instead of heading out to ride, I decided to ride on the spin bike in the gym in our building. When I tell you the bike is old, it’s probably not as old as I think it is. New spin bikes are great with their power meters. So this one is maybe 10 years old. I guess that is pretty old. Anyway, I have been on and off the indoor bike in the gym since the temperature this spring has been so cold.

I start my ride, everything is going well.  Until it isn't.  It started gradually so I didn't notice at first but my right foot started to wobble.  I continue on but it almost feels like an actual outdoor ride.  I get off the bike to check it out.  It turns out the crank is loose.

I finger tighten it and get back on.  Seems to be working for all of about 2 minutes and the crank is loose again.  I need to get my ride in. I feel like this year's cycling is really off and it is what I wanted to focus on this season.  While on the bike, I text The Husband for an eight sided wrench, do we have one? "no” is the response. I text him the problem and correct myself, “it’s not eight its six”. “I will be right down.” YAY! My hero.  He comes, he tightens, and he leaves.

I pick up the pace and get back to where I was, sort of. The tightening of the crank lasts for all of five more minutes.  I decide this is just too dangerous to continue and cut my ride short. There is a second spin bike, a bit older than the one I was using. It is too difficult to explain the exact age. I tried to adjust it but I realized I could absolutely not ride the thing. Pics attached because word just won't do.  The guilt doesn't get too bad until I decide to skip my swim as well.

I believe that I have mentioned that I am also training for a half marathon in June. I am running with a friend of mind and we have a visit and an eight mile run planned for Wednesday. LI Lolita lives at the end of the universe on the North Fork, with a three hour drive in front of me with potential rain, skipping the swim seemed like the right thing to do.


I arrived in Long Island Tuesday night. Traffic was pretty awful. When is it not on the LIE?

We knew there was potential for rain on Wednesday. We made an alternate plan. If it is too bad outside, we could run eight on the treadmill at Lolita's gym.  Shoot me.

On Wednesday morning we decide to run outside. If it is too bad weather-wise, we can always pack it up and go to the gym as our original plan B.

 Lolita has a spot picked out that  should be a little sheltered from the wind. Fingers crossed. We wind up parking on the main road with crazy winds. It’s not looking good. I step out of the car and its only drizzling. It’s not that bad. We make the decision to go for it.

Well. That was pretty stupid.

Not only did the rain really kick in about mile 2.5, there was some snow mixed in as well. We were cold, we were wet but we got it done. Once we were back to the car I cranked the heat and the seat heaters. Because we were absolutely drenched, I caught a chill that I had a tough time shaking for the rest of the morning. The only cure I know: hot, hot shower.

 I was so cold that the shower  water on my hands and feet made them feel like they were on fire. But we got it done.  As you well know, the rain only got worse for the rest of the day.  The afternoon trip to the wineries made it all worth my while. My ride home was nearly four hours.

 Back in The Boogie Down for Thursday's ride.  I was getting ready to cause my own drama.  The week before, I knew that my saddle was loose. I don't have a bike hex key (Allen wrench) to fix it but I do have a hex key set. So it can be fixed. Now neither I nor The Husband are good mechanics but we were both willing to try.  I did not want to write a blog about how I was too lazy to tighten my saddle and had to ride with it in my hand or stand up for a twenty mile ride.

 I thought about it too. But its better when the drama just happens and there is no need to help it along.

We get down to bike storage and take a look at the seat. It will be awkward to tighten. The Husband gets his hand in there and is able to get it sort of. It’s not working, so he winds up taking the seat off to figure out how to get it to tighten. Now he can't get the seat back together. Oy.  Glasses please! Wrench please! The seat is back on the bike.

 The schedule is for an hour long ride. I don't want to ride up and down riverside again. I want to explore the neighborhood.  I take off out of the building only to find myself scrunched up on the bike. Apparently when we put the seat back on the bike we put it on too close to the handle bars. Oops.

I had remembered seeing a bike shop in the neighborhood. I stopped in, had him fix my seat. Easy peasy! He has the proper tools. I also asked him where to go. I thought maybe he could me to a place where I could just let'm spin. He directed me to the old Putnam line with some fairly sketchy directions.

 Up Broadway, right at Tibbet Station (wherever that is), and it should be right there.  “Uh huh.”  Up Broadway, into Yonkers, into a really bad neighborhood in Yonkers (yikes). The characters were so sketchy, I high tailed out and back the way I came, grateful that I have self-defense skills just in case. I have them, I would prefer to not have to use them.  I wound up tooling around the neighborhood never really finding the path that I wanted to take.  Once again I was short changed on the bike.

 My mission for this week is to find a couple of different routes to go without having to pack the bike onto the car. I do miss Central Park. It’s just too far down to go and enjoy right now.

The week ended easily enough: three mile run on Friday, twenty mile ride Saturday morning (up & down riverside) and a late afternoon swim all followed by a nap.

 The pool

 

old spin bike

 

old spin bike

 


even older spin bike

 


even older spin bike.

 


Laura

 

 

Thanks

Jim Ewing

________________________________________

From: Laura Irving [laurairving@live.com]

Sent: Monday, May 05, 2014 2:57 PM

To: Jim Ewing

Subject: last week in a nutshell

 

Hi. It's Laura.

 

 

 

Before I move into telling my stories for this week, it is only Monday.

 

I thought I would recap some of the craziness of last week.

 

 

 

During the throws of triathlon training it is not always easy to sit down and tell a story. not only is there training but there is life and other obligations (we may have established that in earlier posts. can't hurt to reiterate)

 

 

 

My current Saturday schedules are insane:  bike, clean the apt, walk the dog, swim.

 

on paper it doesn't look like much but every activity takes a minimum of one hour. Needless to say, by the time I get to the swim  I am dragging myself around.

 

I desperately wanted to nap last Saturday. with the swim still in front of me for the day, I was torn: nap, swim, nap swim. nap then swim?  we all know if the nap happens first the swim will never happen.

 

Not to offend any of the reading audience, but I am not a huge fan of other people's children. If there is more than one the dislike grows exponentially. (there are exceptions to the dislike, son of the curly girl comes to mind) I am not going using this blog to share my distaste for ill mannered, spoiled, narcissistic children so I will stop here. but you need to know where I stand.

 

I headed to pool and forwent(?) the nap. The pool in our building is generally pretty quiet. compared to my time at the JCC its a welcome change. Until someone else actually shows up.  This particular Saturday it was five tweens. The rule in our pool is under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an adult.

 

so there they all stood at the bottom of the stairs. Meanwhile, I am just about to put my swim cap  & goggles on until I notice that they are all dry. It is customary in public pools to shower before you get in the water. As a matter of fact, most pools have signs in both the locker rooms and around the pool saying just that. our pool is no exception.  I inform the girls that they need to shower before entering. You would have thought that I told them to cut off all their hair.  after the looks I received, I wanted to.  they huddled around trying to figure out what to do when to what do my eyes appear, their adult.  I inform her they need to shower and instruct them to the locker room. " I have never hear of such a thing'!  I gladly pointed out the very large sign just above the pool that says " please shower before entering the pool" .  unfortunately for me I had forgotten my swim watch in the apt. So I suffered the humiliation of having to travel back to the apt soaking wet (wrapped in a towel) with other children on the elevator asking their mommies if they would swim with them . I dash into the apt, grab the watch and head back to the pool.

 

the tweens are well into whatever water game they were playing and had the good sense to stay out of my way.  Did I mention I was tired and cranky?  A serious nap followed.

 

 

 

Monday passed without incident.  I run on Monday's and nothing seems to interrupt the five miler on Mondays.  I have carved out a nice little route up near the Van Cortland Golf Course. Its quiet, its pretty, what more can you ask for.

 

 

 

The drama this season seems to be stemming from cycling.

 

Last Tuesday, the weather was chilly and threatening rain. Instead of heading out to ride, I decided to ride on the spin bike in the gym in our building. When I tell you the bike is old, its probably not as old as I think it is. New spin bikes are great with their power meters so this one is maybe 10. I guess that is pretty old. Anyway. I have been on and off the indoor bike in the gym since the spring has been so cold.

 

I start my ride, everything is going well.  Until it isn't.  It started gradually so I didn't notice at frist but my right foot started to wobble.  I continue on but it almost feels like an actual outdoor ride.  I get off the bike to check it out.  It turns out the crank is loose.

 

I finger tighten it and get back on.  seems to be working for all of about 2 minutes and the crank is loose again.  I need to get my ride in. I feel like this year's cycling is really off and it is what I wanted to focus on this season.  While on the bike, I text the husband for a eight sided wrench, do we have one?" no"  I text him the problem and correct myself. its not eight its six. "I will be right down"  YAY! my hero.  he comes, he tightens, he leaves.

 

I pick up the pace and get back to where I was, sort of. the tightening of the crank lasts for all of five more minutes.  I decide this is just too dangerous to continue and cut my ride short. there is a second spin bike, a bit older than the one I was using. It is too difficult to explain the exact age. I tried to adjust it but I realized I could absolutely not ride the thing. Pics attached.  the guilt doesn't get too bad until I decide to skip my swim as well.

 

 

 

 I believe that I have mentioned that I am also training for a half marathon in June. I am running with a friend of mind and we have a visit and an eight mile run planned for Wednesday. LI Lolita lives at the end of the universe on the North Fork , with a three hour drive in front of me with potential rain, skipping the swim seemed like the right thing to do.

 

 

 

I arrived in Long Island Tuesday night. Traffic was pretty awful . when is it not on the LIE?

 

We knew there was potential for rain on Wednesday. We made an alternate plan, if it is too bad outside, we could run eight on the treadmill at Lolita's gym.  shoot me.

 

Wednesday morning we decide to try it. If it is too bad outside, we can always pack it up and go to the gym as our original plan B .

 

 Lolita has a spot picked out that is should be a little sheltered from the wind. fingers crossed. we wind up parking on the main road with crazy winds. its not looking good. I step out of the car and its only drizzling. its not that bad. we make the decide to go for it.

 

well. that was pretty stupid.

 

not only did the rain really kick in about mile 2.5, there was some snow mixed in as well. we were cold, we were wet but we got it done. once we were back to the car I cranked the heat and the seat heaters. Because we were absolutely drenched, I caught a chill that I had a tough time shaking for the rest of the morning. the only cure I know: hot hot shower.

 

I was so cold that the cold water my hands and feet feel like they were on fire. but we got it done.  as you well know, the rain only got worse for the rest of the day although the afternoon trip to the wineries made it all worth it. my ride home was  nearly four hours.

 

 

 

back in the boogie down for Thursday's ride.  I was getting ready to cause my own drama.  the week before I knew that my saddle was loose. I don't have a bike allen wrench to fix it but I do have allen wrenches so it can be fixed. now neither me nor the husband are good mechanics but we were both willing to try.  I did not want to write a blog about how I was too lazy to tighten my saddle and had to ride with it in my hand or something along those lines.

 

I thought about it too but its better when the drama just happens no need to help it along.

 

We get down to bike storage and take a look at the seat. it will be awkward to tighten. the husband gets his hand in their and is able to get it sort of. its not working , so he winds up taking the seat off to figure out how to get to tighten. now he can't get the seat back together. oy.  glasses please! wrench please! the seat is back on the bike.

 

the schedule is for an hour long ride. I don't want to ride up and down riverside again. I want to explore the neighborhood.  I take off out of the building only to find myself scrunched up on the bike. apparently when we put the seat back on the bike we put it on too close to the handle bars. oops.

 

I had remembered seeing a bike shop in the neighborhood. I stopped in , had him fix my seat. easy peasy, he has the proper tools. I also asked him where to go. I thought maybe he could get to place where I could just let 'em spin. He directed me to the old Putnam line with some fairly sketchy directions.

 

up Broadway, right at Tibbet station, where ever that is,, and it should be right there.  Uh huh.  up Broadway, in to Yonkers,(yikes) into a really bad neighborhood in Yonkers. The characters were so sketchy , I high tailed out and back the way I came grateful that I have self defense skills just in case. I have them, I would prefer to not have to use them.  I wound up tooling around the neighborhood never really finding the path that I wanted to take.  Once again I was short changed on the bike.

 

My mission for this week is to find a couple of different routes to go without having to pack the bike onto the car. I do miss Central Park. Its just too far down to go and enjoy right now.

 

 

 

the week ended easily enough : three mile run on Friday, twenty mile ride Saturday morning(up & down riverside) and a late afternoon swim all followed by a nap.

 

 

 


 

 the pool

 


 

 old spin bike

 


 

 old spin bike

 


 

 even older spin bike

 


 

even older spin bike.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Laura