Wednesday, June 11, 2014

13.1

Hi. It's Laura.

I watched the weather forecast for the 10 days leading up to the Heartbreak Hill Half Marathon.

10 days out, there was a 50% chance of rain (I think this is a default setting for the weather channel). 5 days out "they" predicted the high to be 71 and the low 51. What a wonderful prediction. Then reality sets in.

Lolita and I took Amtrak into the "Boston area" which turns out to be Newton, MA. It is at least 7 miles from Boston which makes a huge difference in being in the city then from being in the suburbs.  The race was to start at Boston College (BC) in Newton. Our hotel was in Needham which is another 5 miles from BC.  We planned this trip back in March. Neither one of us had any idea about Boston or the surrounding area.  How far away could things be really? Had we had a car, things may have been different. But we both agreed that driving home after the race was a bad idea for either one of us.  If you are not familiar with Uber car service, you need to be.

I cannot sing their praises loud enough.  We Ubered back and forth and back and forth. From the hotel to BC, from BC to Needham to dinner to the hotel, you get the idea.

We arrived in Needham area Friday night.  The one and only taxi we took, which was VERY expensive, dropped us at a brand new Residence Inn in the middle of an industrial park.  I was slightly panicked that we were so far away until we met another person checking-in who was running the same race.  Turns out there were quite a few staying in the same hotel which made me feel better about the choice we made.

Because we were unfamiliar we decided the Friday arrival would be ideal to get ourselves orientated. We took all of Saturday to explore so we would not be completely lost on race day.   We start Saturday off with a free breakfast.  When they told us it was free we expected coffee and Danish.  Not the caseJ. They had a full breakfast buffet with make-your-own-waffles station.  Seat yourself, clean up after yourself and eat all you want.  I do not like buffet style eating. I find them pretty disgusting and let's face it, I’m a bit of a food snob. With free breakfast, without leaving the hotel, hot eggs and being hungry, I dug in with no problem. 

Off to the expo.   Neither Lolita nor I knew that there were other races going on during the weekend. We knew about the Eukanuba Dog Race but no other people/dog race.  Our timing to the expo was bad. We arrived just as the bulk of people were either finishing or staring a 5K or a 10K. Apparently there was a hat trick (5K, 10K, 13.1) of races. A runner could do 1, 2 or all 3 with the 5k and the 10k on the same day. There were all these sweaty smelly people milling about the expo trying to pick up the bib and shirt for the next race. Ewww.   Good stuff but too small. With all of the space on the floor of the BC arena they had the vendors in only half of it which smooshed everyone together. Why? Why not spread out? 

Bib and shirt secured. We set out to enjoy the rest of the day.

We took and Uber car back to Needham proper to grab some lunch, mani/pedi and relax.  It would have been an absolutely lovely afternoon but for the heat.  We were prepared for a high of 71 not 87 degrees.

We walked around Needham sweating and trying to find shade for the lack of SPF.

I checked the weather again for Sunday and it was not looking food for us.  85 degrees is awesome when you are going to the beach. 85 is not awesome when you are going to run 13.1 miles in race called Heartbreak Hill.   If you are not a runner you may not be familiar with the rule of thumb of 20 degrees. 

Before heading out to run, add 20 degree to the temp outside and dress for that.  If the high is going to be 86 we need to dress for 106. This is going to suck.

We left for the race start on Sunday morning at 6:30.  We were very lucky there were a number of people running the half, so the hotel arranged for a van to take us all over (good Expedia and trip -advisor reviews for them). We arrived right at 7 am and headed straight for the porta potties.  It is inevitable that no matter how many they have there will always be a line.  Some time there is dancing in line some times its just sheer panic. No matter which it’s just unpleasant.

This is the first road race that I have done that did not have a number or time finish corral start.  Apparently it was the honor system and you could start wherever you wanted (I think most people do that anyway). So we pushed our way to the section that seemed right.  We were close to the front but not too close to the people who would eventually win.  There was the national anthem and, once complete, everyone started moving. What happened to the shot gun, cannon or other loud starting noise? Oh well, here we go.   I thought for sure we would cross the start line about 1/2 hour after the actual start time but we actually crossed very close to 7:30.  I have heard rumors that some people who run the NYC marathon don't start for something like four hours after the actual start time.  I don’t know how true that is but it certainly sounds believable to me for the size of the race.

Even before we actually started you could feel the heat of the of the sun beating down.  No clouds no wind and, down Commonwealth Avenue, no shade.   According to my Garmin, the temp was only 70 degree with no wind, no shade and, running 13.1 miles, it felt closer to 100.  We can sum that up with it was HOT HOT HOT. By mile one people were already very sweaty and starting to walk. 

You can study a course all you want but until you are on it, you have no idea what it is going to be like.  This one was rolling hills, steep hills, and more rolling then Heartbreak Hill perfectly situated at the start of mile 12! Why not at mile 5 or 6 or 7 or 2? It’s just mean. 

I managed to lose Lolita at mile 1ish. I knew I would find her at the end and didn't worry about her too much. As far as my race went. I was good until mile 6/7.  We made the turn to head back up Commonwealth Avenue and I started to have pain in my right foot.  I had to stop twice to make sure I wasn't blistering.  I wasn't.  I stopped twice more to rub the numbness out of my foot.  My right foot was so numb, it was causing actual pain to the point it felt almost broken. The broken toe, BTW, felt just fine.  I did not run heartbreak hill, I walked it.  I just couldn't. I was hot and hurting and there is no shame in walking in direct sun up hill at mile 12. Once I cleared the top I ran to the finish line.

The first two half marathons I ran were both flat flat flat, cold and rainy. Philly half was 23 degrees in November and Long Branch was pouring rain in May. I finished both of those in just about 2 hours but the heat of the day on Sunday just killed me. I wound up finishing in 2:44.  I never set out with time expectations for this race, so I am not too disappointed. Ok, maybe a little but I finished and that is what counts.  The heat was just awful.  Did I mention it was hot?

After I crossed the finish line, I grabbed a bottle of water, finished it and grabbed two more waters and a bottle of Gatorade. I made my way back to the ending .1 of the race to look for Lolita.  She made the turn into the last 800 yards about 30 minutes later. Since this was her first, I ran across the finish line with her and handed her a bottle of water at the end. 

Finishing 13.1 felt good but the Mercedes Benz Uber car that took us back to the hotel felt even better.

We showered, we lunched and we headed home.

Tuesday morning, I was back at it.  Still sore from the half and still training for the tri, I headed out for a good bike ride to break up some lactic acid and swam in the afternoon.

One adventure down, the next one continues and one more after that one. I would have liked to take another day off but they are not going to move the date for the tri because I decided to run a half marathon.  This morning was a slow 5 miler. It is such a relief to not have very long runs anymore.   10 mile training runs are not exactly fun, which is why I will never run a full marathon. 20 mile training runs sound even less fun.

Now I can just focus on triathlon which makes it sound almost easy. Almost.

Laura


No comments:

Post a Comment