Friday, April 18, 2014

Rain, Snow & Cold


Hi. It's Laura.  

Where did the week go? 

I started Monday with a nice quiet easy run, half recovery week from half marathon training, half starting off easy on tri training.  That did not last. 

And of course I only have myself to blame.  I knew tri training season was coming but somehow I just neglected to prepare my schedule for it. I liken it to people who shop for Christmas on Christmas Eve like they didn't know it was coming.


I had scheduled some kickboxing classes with a friend for mid-week. I hate to cancel as it always makes me feel guilty. I hate when people cancel me so I try to not unless it’s absolutely necessary. I do believe some people in this world think that cancelling all of their scheduled plans is somehow cool or makes them look super busy. It doesn't it just makes them rude and they are no friends of mine. 
 

I also volunteer at a cat rescue as a trainer of new volunteers. I had promised them that I would train two new potential volunteers this week. I don't know where I think I was going to get all of this extra time to fit in all of that plus 3 runs, 3 swims and 3 bike rides on top of everything else.  Something always suffers. This week it was me!

 
The week, like I said, started off ok. Easy run. My bike was at the shop being tuned-up along with some other new feature added like aero bars and new handle bar tape. It was ready Monday afternoon and ready to ride for Tuesday (or not).

 
I won't ride in the rain and Tuesday it rained hard. I kept trying to time my ride to go out in between the “on and off” rain. Bad plan. I wound up in the gym on the stationary bike.  Yay for me that I wrote and awesome spin ride for myself that is customizable. At least I have an indoor bike to ride.  I also managed to squeeze in my first swim in the afternoon. 

 
The swim was like no other that I have done before. The Husband joined me! We could not do this when we were at the JCC because it was just too crowded and crazy. Maybe being in the Bronx won't be so bad after all but I will let you know about that after my first bike ride outside. Yeah, we'll get to that in a minute.

 
I think everyone was quite surprised to wake up to snow on Wednesday morning.  I truly thought that with the triathlon being later in the year (august 4th) and training starting in April that I would not have to train in the cold at all. AND THE COLD! I love snow and I love the cold but I (and I believe everyone else at this point too) is ready for some consistently warmer weather. I skipped my run in the morning and put it off to the afternoon due to the cold and the logistics of travel into Manhattan.

 
By the time I got around to getting to my run, I was too tired to tackle the hills of Spuyten Duyvil and wound up back in the gym on the treadmill.  Training wise, I only had a run scheduled but wound up in kickboxing class Wednesday afternoon too. Phew.
 

I seriously think someone decided to mess with the clocks on Thursday, not to mention perhaps a little poor scheduling on my part.   I needed to swim and ride on Thursday. Although it was a little chilly, my intention was to ride outside. Because the pool is in my building , I was going to put the laundry in the washer, hit the pool, then head back put the clothes in the dryer and finally catch up on email. FAIL. I started the laundry alright but the close our laundry room at 2 pm to 5pm every Thursday for cleaning. I forgot about the closing but that doesn't mean I wasn't pissed (during my two hours of irrational behavior that ensued, I blamed everyone else) the swim happened the ride did not.

 
I start Friday morning making up the work I couldn't get done during the rest of the week. I will continue to make up that work on Saturday as well.  Once again I was relegated to the indoor bike trainer because of the weather.  It was 34 degrees this morning. Add 15-20 mph winds (speed of the bike) and that makes it too cold for me to ride. As for the run, I was too lazy after a dinner out with The Blondish Friend (code for one too many glasses of wine). Our dinner was long overdue, and had we more time, we would have had more wine. Since I missed her so much, I decided to miss the outside run and let myself be lazy by running the treadmill.

 
I know what next week looks like already and it certainly looks much less packed with other time sucking activities. This should allow me to get everything in on the day it supposed to happen instead of scrambling to squeeze things and doubling up on training sessions.

 
Laura

 

 

 

 

 


Thanks
Jim Ewing



From: Laura Irving [laurairving@live.com]
Sent: Friday, April 18, 2014 2:29 PM
To: Jim Ewing
Subject: blog post for editing: Rain, Snow & Cold

 

Hi.It's Laura.

 

Where did the week go?

 

I started Monday with a nice quiet easy run, half recovery week from half marathon training , half starting off easy on tri training..  That did not last.

 

And of course I only have myself to blame.  I knew tri training season was coming but some how I just neglected to prepare my schedule for it. I liken it to people who shop for Christmas on Christmas eve like they didn't know it was coming.

 

I had scheduled some kickboxing classes with a friend for mid week. I hate to cancel it always makes me feel guilty. I hate when people cancel me so I try to not unless its absolutely necessary. I do believe some people in this world think that cancelling all of their scheduled plans is some how cool or makes them look super busy. It doesn't it just makes them rude and they are no friend of mine. 

 

I also volunteer at a cat rescue as a trainer of new volunteers and had promised them that I would train two new potential volunteers this week. I don't know where I think I was going to get all of this extra time to fit in all of that plus 3 runs, 3 swims and 3 bike rides on top of everything else.  something always suffers. this week it was me!

 

the week like I said started off ok. easy run. My bike was at the shop being tuned- up along with some other new feature added like aero bars and new handle bar tape.it was ready Monday afternoon and ready to ride for Tuesday. or not.

 

I won't ride in the rain and Tuesday it rained hard. I kept trying to time my ride to go out in between the on and off rain. bad plan. I wound up in the gym on the stationary bike.  Yay for me that I wrote and awesome ride for myself that is customizable and at least I have a indoor bike to ride.  I also managed to squeeze my first swim in the afternoon. 

 

the swim was like no other that I have done before, the husband joined me! we could not do this when we were at the JCC because it was just too crowded and crazy. maybe being in the Bronx won't be so bad after all but I will let you know about that after my first bike ride outside. yeah, we'll get to that in a minute.

 

I think everyone was quite surprised to wake up to snow on Wednesday morning.  I truly thought that with the triathlon being later in the year (august 4th) and training starting in April that I would not have to train in the cold at all. and the cold! I love snow and I love the cold but I ( and I believe everyone else at this point too) is ready for some consistently warmer weather. I skipped my run in the morning and put off to the afternoon due to the cold and the logistics of travel into Manhattan.

 

by the time I got around to getting to my run , I was too tired to tackle the hills of spuyten dyvil and wound up back in the gym on the treadmill.  Training wise, I only had a run scheduled but wound up in kickboxing class Wednesday afternoon. phew.

I seriously think someone decided to mess with the clocks on Thursday not to mention perhaps a little poor scheduling on my part.   I needed to swim and ride on Thursday and although it was a little chilly my intention was to ride outside. Because the pool is in my building , I was going to put the laundry in the washer, hit the pool and then head back put the clothes in the dryer and catch up on email. FAIL. I started the laundry alright but the close our laundry room at 2 pm to 5pm every Thursday for cleaning. I forgot but that doesn't mean I wasn't pissed that I forgot (during my two hours of irrational behavior that ensued I blamed everyone else) the swim happened the ride did not.

 

 I start Friday morning making up the work I couldn't get done during the rest of the week. I will continue to make up that work on Saturday as well.  Once again I was relegated to the indoor bike trainer because of the weather.  it was 34 degrees this morning. add 15-20mph winds (speed of the bike) and that makes it too cold for me to ride. as for the run, I was too lazy after a dinner out with the blondish friend (code for one too many glasses of wine) . Our dinner was long over do and had we more time I would have more wine since I missed her so much to make it outside to run and let myself be lazy and run the treadmill.


I know what next week looks like already and it certainly looks much less packed with other things which should allow me to get everything in on the day it supposed to happen instead of scrambling to squeeze things and doubling up on training sessions.

 

Laura

 

 

 

 

 

No comments:

Post a Comment